Parkside Rugby Club - est. 1997
ContactsDriving DirectionsNew PlayersSchedulePhotosTeam InfoLinksWhat Is Rugby?

While rugby in the United States dates back to the late 1800s - including gold medals in the 1920 and 1924 Olympics - and actually continued to grow and flourish, it was not until 1975 that the United States of America Rugby Football Union (USARFU) was formed.

Under the USARFU umbrella, U.S. rugby is divided into four territorial unions - USA Rugby East; Midwest Rugby Union; Western Rugby Union; and the Pacific Coast Rugby Union. Each of the four territorial unions is broken down into sub-unions, or local unions.

In the Midwest, the 10 local unions are Allegheny, Chicago Area, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Mid-South, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin. The UW-Parkside Rugby Club is a member of the Wisconsin union of the Midwest. According to the 1989 National Directory published by Rugby magazine there are a total of 244 rugby clubs in the Midwest Rugby Union. The Directory lists seven different categories for rugby teams: men's clubs, military, professional schools, colleges, high schools, masters and women's. In all, the 1989 directory lists 1,290 rugby clubs in the US. The two largest categories are men's clubs with 409 and colleges, with 378 schools having teams.

Sanctioned national championships are held for clubs, colleges, high schools, military and women. In addtion, national championships are held for territorial select sides and junior select sides which are all-star teams from each of the four unions.

In September of 2007, the US National Team is going to play in the 2007 World Cup of Rugby to be held in France. To check out recent results, check out

USA RugbyWisconsin Rugby Union
Harborfest 7s
Midwest Rugby Union
UW-Parkside website

Important Upcoming Dates June 24th - Harborfest 7s at Kennedy Park in Kenosha

U.S. Game
The Field
The Game

Please support our new RUCK sponsor, DeRangos!

ContactsDriving DirectionsNew PlayersSchedulePhotosTeam InfoLinksWhat Is Rugby?